Saturday, July 17, 2010

The ALBA countres in Latin American voice their support Iran's rights

The countries of the ALBA alliance have expressed their support for Iran’s right to use nuclear energy meant for peaceful purposes and have condemned the imposition of sanctions on the country.

Ambassadors and heads of missions of five member states of the Bolivarian Alliance of the People of Our America (ALBA) signed a declaration in Tehran on Wednesday expressing support for Iran’s right to continue its peaceful nuclear activities.

The signing of the declaration was announced during a press conference held at the Venezuelan Embassy in Tehran on Wednesday July 14.

Jorge Miranda, the ambassador of the Multinational State of Bolivia, William Carbo Ricardo, the ambassador of the Republic of Cuba, Daniel Alvarez, the charge d’affaires of the Republic of Ecuador, Mario Barquero, the ambassador of the Republic of Nicaragua, and David Velasquez, the ambassador of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, attended the press conference.

Following is the full text of the declaration:

Combined Declaration of the Ambassadors and Heads of Missions of the Member States of ALBA accredited to the Islamic Republic of Iran

We, Ambassadors and Heads of Mission of the Member States of the Bolivarian Alliance of the people of our America -– ALBA -- in the Islamic Republic of Iran condemn the destabilizing and militaristic aspirations of the United States’ Government and its allies, specially the Zionist government of Israel, whose acts lead to a conflict scene against Iran which will be extended to all the Middle East.

We ratify the support of our governments to the sovereign right of the Islamic Republic of Iran to generate atomic energy and use it with peaceful aims, the right of all the nations laid down in the NPT (Non-Proliferation Treaty).

The civilized way of dialogue for giving solution to controversies never should be stopped because it is the main form of the relations between sovereign nations in the 21st century. A military aggression against the Islamic Republic of Iran will just bring dreadful consequences to all of humanity.

All the people and governments of the Bolivarian Alliance of the People of Our America -- ALBA -- believe that frank dialogue for finding solutions and agreement should prevail over roaring cannons.

During the press conference, Ambassador Barquero said, “We have gathered to condemn imperialism… express our opposition to this (the Zionist) regime’s acts and highlight the (need for) peace and peaceful concord.”

The Cuban ambassador noted, “We have always said that threatening Iran should be condemned, and we have expressed our readiness to support Iran at this point in time, and we believe that the Iranian nation can give a crushing response to the threats.”

Velasquez said, “We have gathered to express the common concerns of Latin American countries about any measures taken against Iran and to warn against hostile acts toward Iran.”

He added that Iran and Venezuela have signed agreements on gasoline and petrochemicals, which are also subject to sanctions, but explained that Venezuela will continue its cooperation with Iran in this area.

Ambassador Miranda said that Bolivian President Evo Morales will pay an official visit to Iran after the month of Ramadan, which occurs from approximately August 12 to September 11 this year, depending on the sighting of the new moon.

The ambassadors also said that ALBA member states will continue their economic cooperation with Iran despite the economic sanctions imposed on the country.

Commenting on the efforts to increase the economic integration of ALBA, Ambassador Barquero said ALBA members have agreed to adopt a single currency called the sucre, and stated that Ecuador, Venezuela, and Cuba use this currency in their trade exchanges.

Ambassador Miranda explained that the sucre is still at a point somewhat similar to the stage when the euro was still the European Currency Unit, but added that one day it may enter circulation.

Bolivia, Cuba, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines are the members of ALBA.