Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Russia to support India's accession to SCO

Russia fully supports India's intention to join the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO). According to the statement signed by Russian President Dmitry Medvedev and India's Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, India's accession to the organization will significantly strengthen the SCO's political role and provide a new standard of operation for it. "Russia has agreed to take steps along with other SCO members to expedite the process of India's induction to the organization," the statement reads.

At the moment, the SCO consists of Russia, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.